Photograph courtesy of El Paso Chihuahuas Just when things seemed to get going for the El Paso Texans, they would suddenly find themselves on shaky ground. The depression had arrived and people couldn't afford to spend their money on entertainment such as a ballgame. The league disbanded by the end of July and wasn't to be seen again for 5 years until 1937 when the Az-Tex or AZ-Mex League (the league would change names based on how many Mexican teams were playing) was finally able to
re-organize itself. When the league returned in 1937 it would featured only 4 ballparks.... Albuquerque's Tingley Field, Bisbee's Warren Ballpark, Tucson's Hi Corbett Field and here at the Dudley Dome. The Texans now back on the field, featured a stronger team than in the past, of future Washington Senators' Milo Candidi (league leading 21-7, 4.23) who was all of 19 and Ken Manning, who set new records  for doubles with 41, along with 14 3B and 5 HR and a .341 batting average. James Nicholson's 10 HR (27 2B, .324) also led the league. These three local heros, shot the Texans straight to 1st place with a 73-49 (.598) record. In the finals, Albuquerque would face off against El Paso who were looking to start the newly organized AZ-Tex League in the right direction and after 6 games it was tied 3-3. The final game against Albuquerque proved fatal however as El Paso lost the final game, ending a terrific season on a sour note. Undaunted, the Texans returned in 1938 behind Walter Stewart who took the all time Wins lead with a fantastic 24-12 record and a league leading 270 strikeouts. At the plate meanwhile, Eddie Goddard (36 2B, 17 3B, .347) set a new Dudley Field record in triples and Frank Falconi was right behind him with 26 2B, 15 HR and a .353. The combination of excellent pitching and superb hitting led the Texans to 2nd place (.515) and another playoff berth. This time they would need to take on 1st place Bisbee who were easily just as talented and proved it by again deadlocking the finals at 3 games to 3. This time however, it would be the Texans who would hold on in that final game to take home their 2nd Championship in their 4th full professional season. It had become immediately apparent that the Texans were going to be the to beat every season.